Testimonials

What our guests have had to say
Submit your testimonial to our webmaster
Note: for photos, click on image for a larger view

  • [Jan ’15]
    I had the great honor and pleasure to stay with Sheila and Frank on a
    trip to Ireland in Aug, 2014. The first night we were guests at a
    neighboring B&B. ( too large a group to all stay at the Ashgrove).
    When we went over to the Ashgrove to meet up with our friend (who was
    napping). Sheila greeted us warmly, brought us in and treated us to
    delicious homemade scones and delightful Irish coffees. You will not
    meet more gracious hosts anywhere. Also, the following year, my friend
    went back to Ireland again. She ended up in the hospital in Galway.
    Sheila was kind enough to make the trip to check on her, and bring her
    some necessities, not once, but twice! I don’t know of any other
    B&B owners who would do that. Winnie Mondshein
  • [Nov ’13]
    I recently traveled to Ireland alone with my two children, ages 14 and
    9. Just two hours after getting off the plane I managed to wreck our
    rental car in Galway. Suddenly we found ourselves exhausted and
    scared, with no car and no place to stay since we had missed our
    connecting flight to the Aran Islands. I began to suffer from a severe
    panic attack. Not knowing what else to do I phoned the only person I
    could think of, Sheila Tiernan of the Ashgrove House B&B in
    Bunratty. I had stayed at the Ashgrove House on two previous trips to
    Ireland ten years ago and had booked a stay with Sheila for the end of
    this trip as well.I cried on the phone to her and asked for help. She took charge of the
    situation and sent a friend to fetch us in Galway and bring us to the
    Ashgrove House. Sheila and her husband, Frank, set us up in a room for
    two nights. They spent much time visiting with me and my kids until we
    got back on our feet and felt confident enough to get another car and
    try again.I am happy to report that because of their support the rest of our
    trip turned out wonderfully. Although my children will have happy
    memories of Ireland for the rest of their lives, none will be so fond
    as the time spent with Frank and Sheila (and their little dog,
    Sydney!). They are truly a credit to your country and deserve
    recognition for their kindness and generosity. I recall Frank’s own
    words to me, “The people are Ireland’s greatest national
    treasure.” In this visitor’s opinion no truer words were ever
    spoken. Sincerely, Faith McDonald
  • [Aug ’12]
    My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in your B&B in
    October of 2000. We were just amazed at the hospitality shown to us.
    We arrived early travel weary and not only welcomed in to your home
    before our check in time but made to feel as though we were one of
    your family. Frank and Sheila were on holiday and Frank’s lovely
    sister was holding down the fort so to speak. she allowed us to get
    settled and then had us join her and her friend for tea. She actually
    scolded us for not bringing any wedding pics with us (this was before
    digital cameras).Shiobhan (I hope I spelled that right) made us a reservation that
    evening at the banquet at bunratty castle. Little did we know she told
    them we were on our honeymoon and so they crowned us the lord and lady
    of the castle and it made for a very memorable evening. We had the
    most amazing start of our trip that because of the time we spent at
    Ashgrove House. I know that when we are finally able to return to
    Ireland Ashgrove House will be our first stop! Kathy and Jake Knibbs
  • [Feb ’12]
    Just returned home to Canada from a recent trip to Ireland. (January
    2012) The people were so welcoming and warm and witty!!! Our stay with
    Sheila and Frank at Ashgrove House B&B in Bunratty was wonderful.
    Felt like I was coming home. When we arrived from the Bunratty Castle
    at night our heating pad on our bed was turned on. The breakfast was
    great. Thank you so much for having us. Tish and Gerald
  • [Aug ’11]
    We stayed with Sheila and Frank in July 2011. The rooms were clean,
    comfortable and exactly what we needed. The location was superb for
    Shannon Airport, Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies( big fun). The best
    part of our visit was our hosts. Sheila and Frank could not have been
    warmer, more friendly, or more gracious than they were. They spent
    extra time with us discussing Irish history and life while drinking an
    Irish Coffee. It was a perfect way to spend our last day in Ireland
    and cemented our very fond memories of the Irish people. We will go
    back and definitely stay again with our most gracious hosts. They were
    wonderful. Bill Steiger, Columbia SC
  • [May ’11]
    Dear Sheila and Frank, I wanted to say thank you so much for
    everything you did for us when we were in Ireland this May. Staying
    with you and Frank for the first and last days of our visit was the
    best way to start and finish our tour. Your location and home is
    lovely and you made me feel like I was at home too. I hope to see you
    again soon as I don’t plan on waiting another 5 years to visit your
    lovely country this time. Take care! Karyn Kujawa
  • [Jan ’11]
    Just have to share… when I visited Ireland with some friends we
    stayed with you on arrival. On the way home we were bumped off a
    flight because of military troops returning home (we didn’t have a
    problem with that at all) but as a result we were stranded for another
    night in Ireland. We called you and took a taxi to your B&B. My
    friend and I were so exhausted (sleeping in the airport is not
    relaxing). When we arrived it was like going to an Aunt &
    Uncle’s home… you welcomed us and feed us and told us to take a
    nap. I’ll never forget that… you and Frank are such wonderful
    people. Sharon Simpson
  • [Nov ’10]
    Good evening Sheila,
    I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful hospitality and warm
    welcome you gave my sister and her husband, Lori and Clyde McCune.
    They loved the B&B and can’t wait to return to Ireland. Luciana Lyons
  • [Nov ’10]
    Sheila and FrankMANY THANKS for the memories Sue Ellen and I (and the other fortunate
    folks who experienced Ashgrove house) and your hospitality…. AND
    Breakfast! When we return, we will see you again.
    Brian and Sue Ellen Brown
  • [Oct ’10]
    Hi Sheila & FrankWhat a wonderful time we had in Ireland and it was great to begin and
    end the journey with you. Your home is lovely, the Irish coffees were
    spectacular and yours was our favorite B&B of the 15 we stayed in
    while touring Ireland. You were wonderful hosts and lovely people. We
    hope to return again and we look forward to staying with you. Hi to
    Sidney the world’s happiest Westie too! Susan W. Robinson
  • [Oct ’10]
    Hi Sheila & Frank,We had a fabulous vacation and the tone was certainly set at your
    wonderful, friendly B & B. Plus having two days with Andy just
    catering to us with so great. I just saw Jim this morning before mass
    and he asked me if I was ready to go back as he is. I said that of
    course I was.I would love to come back already and I certainly will recommend your
    place to anyone. From the moment we walked in the door we felt that we
    were family. It was an experience that I had always dreamed of and you
    made it come true.The tour with John and Tom was great but my absolute best memories
    will be the way it started and how we were made to feel special by you
    and Andy. Thanks for recommending Andy. I will be e-mailing him today,
    too, to let him know how very much we enjoyed our time with him. I am
    trying to get my husband to consider coming to Ireland and to go
    fishing with Andy. He knows all the best spots. Thanks again. Jim told
    me to say “hi” from him as I told him I would be e-mailing
    you. Best Regards, Susan
  • [Sept ’10]
    Dear Sheila and Frank,A warm hello to you both. My family and I stayed at Ashgrove House
    with you in early March of 2004. At supper this evening, we were
    reminiscing about our experiences at the B&B’s that accomodated us
    on our Irish journey. We met our son that was studying in Rome In
    Ireland to celebrate his 21st birthday with him and toured the West
    coast counties.I searched on the internet to check to see if you were still opening
    your warm home to guests!Life has been brought many changes since our stay with you in Bunratty,
    but our memories are yet intact. Your soft beds, and delicious scones
    came quick to mind for us all. I agree with the testimonials of your
    other guests…..Ashgrove House is a lovely way to close out our
    lovely days in Ireland! I correct other family members when they relay
    that our family came from Cork……and I tell them that Sheila popped
    out the local telephone directory to show me the many entries of the
    Quinn name!We hope this finds you and your family well and happy. Our oldest son
    lived in Romania for several months in 2008, and travels back to Rome
    in January 2011. We hope to visit him again and we are all plotting to
    add a stop in Ireland to our agenda! Perhaps our paths will cross once
    again. We all feel like Ireland is a magical place. Thank you both!
    God bless, Linda, Bob, Zach, Andy and Ted
  • (Aug ’10)
    Dear Sheila, I can’t imagine a better welcome and send off than
    staying at your B&B. You made us feel instantly at home, welcomed,
    and cared for (I’ll never forget that Irish coffee you offered after
    the long flight – that put me instantly to sleep!). When I got home,
    my little terrier sniffed Sidney on my clothes and was glad to know I
    had been in good hands while I was away from her.You are a great ambassador
    for your friendly and open-hearted culture
    – and I want to thank you for your hospitality. Well over and above
    the call of duty – Regards to Frank – and give Sidney a little
    scratch for me. Many thanks, Adina Sarawww.adinasara.com
  • (July ’10)
    It has been busy for us since we returned home from Ireland, I meant
    to email you earlier. We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed
    our stay and to let you know you were a big part of making our first
    tour of ireland so memorable. Thank you for your warm welcome and
    hospitable home.Mike has written new “Ireland” songs and we will send you a
    CD when they are completed. We had a GREAT time at the banquet, met
    some wonderful people, it was a nice way to finish the trip. Can’t
    wait to see you again. Mary Kay Nissen
  • (July ’10)
    Dear Sheila, Pat and I stayed with you on June 1 of this year. I’m
    sorry it has taken me so long to thank you for a wonderful time. Your
    hospitality added so much to our first Irish experience. You are a
    wonderful host.We are happy to let others know of our experience at Ashgrove House!
    Thanks again! Sincerely, Bob and Pat
  • (June ’10)
    Hi Sheila and Frank. We want to thank you for your wonderful
    hospitality last week when we stayed with you at your lovely B &
    B! Thanks for the welcoming Irish coffee when we arrived. We
    enjoyed meeting you and visiting with you as well and we loved the
    restaurant–Gallagher’s–that you recommended. It was delicious and a
    great experience. And thank you, too, for the scones and fruit &
    juice to take with us to the airport when we had to leave so early the
    next day.We will recommend you to our friends and family if they travel to
    Ireland and County Clare! God bless you, Jeannie
    and Doug Corcoran
    , White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
  • (May ’10)
    Hi Frank and Sheila! It’s been a whole year since we there in Ireland.
    We had such a nice stay with you guys! We were with 2 other couples
    and the guys talked Frank into driving them to the store for beer! HA.
    We told some aquantences about your place so hope they stop to see
    you. This B&B was the best on our whole trip! Jeannette Kinney
  • (Sept ’09)
    9-9-IMG_2351Dear Sheila and Frank,I apologize for my delay in getting this email off to the two of you,
    it has taken me a couple of weeks to get everything in order and back
    into a routine. That said, we would all like to say “THANK
    YOU” for everything you did to make our trip to Ireland a
    wonderful experience. Your warm hospitality and graciousness were
    instrumental in making Al’s break and our reunion so memorable. We
    appreciated all the wonderful breakfasts, Irish and Bailey coffees,
    your guidance and suggestions on where to go, assistance with lodging
    at other B&B’s and making us feel welcome and “at home”
    at Ashgrove House.I’ve attached a couple photos, one of the four of us on our last night
    together at Dolan’s, and one of Al and Frank on our last night in
    Ireland.Thanks again! Diane and Al, Phillip and Lisa
  • (July ’09)
    Sheila and Frank,Thank you for going out of your way to make sure our last night/day in
    Ireland was grand! Pattie, Daisy and I truly enjoyed our stay at the
    Ashgrove House. Diana Watts
  • (Mar ’09)
    sheila and frank,My husband and I stayed with you on our last night in ireland. You
    have by far the warmest and mostly friendly B&B. It was a
    wonderful end to our trip. The irish coffee upon arriving was
    wonderful. The best greeting we had on our whole trip. The next
    morning I had oatmeal and you turned me on to eating it with Bailey’s
    irish cream. Delicious! We will see you soon on our next trip.
    love, Sallie and Jake totten
  • (Mar ’09)
    We have wanted to stay with yourself and Frank for a number of years,
    and are so glad we were able to this last trip. It was a home run for
    us. We have found a home at Bunratty, and we will be back to visit and
    stay with you. Our stay with you was indeed the highlight of our trip.
    The time we spent with you in your kitchen, listening to all the
    wonderful stories, and hearing Fergal sing for us was such a delight.
    For Karen and myself, that is exactly what we come to Ireland for. We
    have been almost everywhere in Ireland, and love every town and
    village we stumble into, but it is the people, like yourselves, that
    we love the most.People traveling miss a lot when they rush about to much, and do not
    take the time to meet the people. That is why I call our tour the
    “Meet the People” tour. The ladies with us this time, because of
    their age, are not late people, which was a challenge for me, but they
    were able to listen to our stories about our time in your kitchen all
    the next day, and the day after on the long drive from Kilfenora to
    Clifton, and back down to Mina, and they loved the two of you and
    Ashgrove House. They still talk about it. This was only their second
    day in Ireland, and you helped us set the love for Ireland and her
    people in them straight away. Thanks so much for that. And by the way,
    Fergal does indeed have a grand voice, and I’m sure will keep the
    wonderful tradition of singing alive and well in Ireland for many
    years to come. Good on him! We felt like we were at home visiting with
    family, and it was wonderful. And then to meet up with you a few days
    past, was grand as well. Thanks for the Coke! Liam Irish
  • (Feb ’09)
    Hi Frank and Sheila,Once again we’ve had the most wonderful time staying with you. We’ve
    brought new friends to you and you always welcome them as if they were
    family. Frank made us feel so special this year with his company and
    charm! He’s really a great cook too!! Can’t decide which of you makes
    the best Irish coffee – we’ll just have to come back for another
    sample of each!!Jimmy and Colleen (this year’s traveling companions) are looking
    forward to staying with you when they return with their family. Sean,
    Nancy, Joe and Larry were all asking for you both on our return home.
    They send their best regards to you both. They are still talking about
    your wonderful hospitality and kindnesses. We can’t wait to see you
    both next year!! Stay well and healthy! Mike and Linda O’Neill
  • (Nov ’08)
    I am finally keeping a promise I made to Sheila so long ago. My
    husband and I stayed just one night in late April 2007 on our way from
    the US to visit our daughter Marisa who was studying in Edinburgh for
    the semester. Yes, our accommodations were wonderful and the Irish
    breakfast could not have been more delicious and elegantly served.
    But the real charm of Ashgrove House is Sheila herself. (Frank, you were away!)
    She made us feel so welcome, her joy of life spilling over
    everything. For myself, it was one of the highlights of our brief stay
    in Ireland to feel so quickly connected, mother to mother, woman to
    woman. It made me sad to say good-bye… Thank you, Sheila, for all
    the fond memories! Cathy & Bob Shutte
  • (Nov ’08)
    dear Sheila and FrankThank you for the hospitality and lovely stay in your b&b, we
    loved it!also the warm welcome with irish coffee, the good help you gave us to
    find something for diner. It was very nice in durty nelly. thanks,
    katleen, jurgen and lars
  • (Aug ’08)
    I came with my family (mother, father and little sister) to experiment
    beauty of landscapes and warmth of irish welcome… Thanks to Ashgrove
    House, we’re now aware of everything! We liked above all breakfasts
    and conversations with Meg and Dan, who looked after us for most of
    our stay. Now we’re dying to meet Sheila and Frank: maybe next year?
    We hope so ! Thanks for all, and don’t change anything in your
    comfortable, cozy B&B! Anne-sophie
  • (Aug ’08)
    A friend and I stayed with Sheila and Frank about two years ago, and I
    still remember their hospitality. From the moment we arrived, they
    made us feel welcome by picking us up at the bus station and, since we
    didn’t have a car, driving us around Bunratty showing us things to do.
    Sheila booked dinner reservations for us at Bunratty Castle and found
    someone to take us there and back.Sheila’s warm scones, fresh out of the oven, were the perfect way to
    start the day. The stay at Ashgrove House was one of the most
    memorable things about our trip to Ireland. We recommend it to anyone
    planning a trip there! Carrie
  • (July ’08)
    Sheila and Frank:Now that we are back in Canada and back into our daily, busy routines,
    on behalf of myself (Cherie), my father Tom and my brother Jason, we
    would all like to thank you for your amazing hospitality and warm
    Irish welcome to your home. We still think of you often and will
    cherish the memories we have of our trip forever. We stayed a total of
    5 nights with you during our 14 night stay in Ireland and your B&B
    was truly our “home away from home”. It was very difficult to say
    “good bye” the morning we left.Thanks again for pre-booking a few of our next B&B’s along our
    journey and coordinating the Traditional Irish Night at the Folk Park
    on our last night’s stay with you. That was truly a wonderful
    experience. It was the next best thing to Riverdance!We will definitely recommend your B&B to anyone traveling to your
    beautiful country and if we are fortunate enough to visit Ireland
    again some day (definitely at the top of our wish list), we will be
    sure to drive down the Low Road in Bunratty and turn left into
    Ashgrove House.Until we meet again…. Tom & Jason Kelly Cherie Kelly-Laymann
  • (July ’08)
    Irish coffee for an incredible welcome to a lovely B&B, 6/16/08,
    our last stop on our way home from Carrick to the US. Repeat
    customers, we felt at home and Shiela is a gracious hostess we’ll see
    again! Kathie & Bill
  • (June ’08)
    Sheila, I wanted to thank you once again for your wonderful
    hospitality Saturday night. Heidi & I truly enjoyed ourselves
    & it was the perfect ending to our Ireland trip. Should you find
    your way over our way, please look us up. Take care, Pat Betz
  • (April ’08)
    kb1371-08Sorry we missed you, but you Daughter was wonderful. The room was
    perfect, and the coffee/Tea w/ Biscuits was just perfect after a long
    flight. Breakfast was superb. I only wish that you were able to
    accommodate us on on last day in Ireland. I have attached a photo.
    Kevin Butler
  • (Mar ’08)
    Sheila and Frank:Thanks for looking after me with your generous hospitality. I look
    forward to seeing you again when I’m back in Ireland in late April. Beth Lauren
  • (Feb ’08)
    Hi Frank & SheilaI just wanted to drop you a few lines to thank you for making our stay
    at your home such a pleasure. Mike and Linda O’Neill were with
    us. along with my daughter Nancy and her husband Sean O’Neill
    and. my Grandson Joe. I wish we could have stayed longer ,but
    all good things have to come to an end. Again Thank you so much, God
    Bless you both, Larry Barker
  • (Nov ’07)
    Frank and Sheila,Now that we are back in the US and have settled back into our daily
    routines, which are dull in comparison to our adventures in Ireland,
    we have time to write and thank you for your hospitality during our
    stay at Ashgrove House. We especially want to thank you for your
    generous help when our car window was broken. The plastic sheet held
    up well even in heavy rains.We will always remember that event and it is already a regular
    anecdote when we tell others about or trip. We also thank you for
    coordinating our visit to the evening entertainment at the Castle. Ashgrove House
    will always be highly recommended by us. Perhaps we
    will be able to return for a longer stay to enjoy evenings listening
    of Irish Musics. Our Best, Bill and Sylvia
  • (Oct ’07)
    Dear Sheila,Carol and I had an absolutely wonderful stay at Ashgrove House. You were so
    hospitable and your accommodations were top notch! It was my favorite B & B
    during my holiday in Ireland.I feel absolutely terrible about accidently leaving our breakfast behind. We were
    so looking forward to digging into it at the airport (where, incidently, our flight was
    delayed 1.5 hours). But in our rush out the door, each of us thought the other had
    collected the breakfast, and obviously neither had. However, I had the pleasure of
    eating half of my scone with some lovely tea in the room before we got out the door.Thanks again for everything. Sincerely, DaraP.S. We told Paul at The Creamery that you had sent us. He spoke highly of you
    and Frank as well. Oh, and we loved our taxi driver, but didn’t catch her name.
  • (Oct ’07)
    SheilaI just wanted to thank you again. Your hospitality was second to none.
    As you were curious, I attached a copy of the rose photo I took on the
    last morning. I hope it brings a smile to you as your kindness did for
    us. Síocháin, John and Jane Callanan
  • (Sept ’07)
    Thank you so much for the wonderful scones, drinks, fruit and yogurt
    you put in a “care package” for our early morning exit. That
    was so thoughtful of you. We really enjoyed meeting you last week and
    wish we had had more time to chat but only had one night before
    flight. Again, think you so much for your hospitality. Pam and Mark Buckley
  • (Sept ’07)
    Hi Sheila,We’re back home in the States safe and sound. The rest of our trip
    worked out wonderfully. We only had rain on the one Sunday.
    Unfortunately it was the day we drove the ring of Kerry and Dingle
    Pinsula so we didn’t get the great views, but from what everyone tells
    us it was much better than the 70 days of rain you had this summer. In
    all we put 2000 kilometers on the van before we turned it back in.
    We’re glad to get back to the states where people drive on the
    “right” side of the road and the highways are wide and
    multilaned and gas is “only” $2.75 per gallon.I also wanted to thank you for
    forwarding my wallet. It was in Dublin at the hotel the day we arrived.Thanks again for the warm hospitality; your welcoming coffee with Baileys was the subject of many conversations
    when we got back.If we ever get back to Ireland (which we hope to do) we’ll be sure to
    look you up and recommend your B&B to friends who we learn are
    going to Ireland. Jim & Pat Fisher
  • (Sept ’07)
    Thanks for the warm and friendly welcome in Ashgrove house; Thanks for
    the Irish coffee and scones, and for the bottle of whiskey. (But
    you’re not guilty at all, i’m sure that the banquets in the castles
    and corn barn were full for months.)Thank you too to Julie. We were really pleased to meet her. She’s nice
    and so friendly (but is she always late ?). It’s a pity we had no more
    time to talk and enjoy the moment.I hope you had a good your trip to the states, and enjoyed the
    wedding.Next time it will be my round with a bottle of old french wine.I enclose a picture of our last morning in Bunratty. Kind regards, Didier
  • (Sept 07)
    HI, so sorry to have missed you, while you were away gadding about the
    world we were entertained by your daughter. Norman and I (Jill) have
    never been to Ireland and wow what a welcolme. She saw to us as though
    we were royalty, helped us book a next B&B and of course returned
    before flying home. You must be so proud of your daughter, she is a
    credit to you. We hope to return in March next year and hopefully make
    your pleasant place our first port of call. Till then THANKS
    Jill & Norman Melbourne (Pam and John)
  • (June 07)
    Dear Frank and Sheila, I’ve been wanting to e-mail re:
    our stay at your house. We were a party of 8….the Finn family, and
    we enjoyed our stay at your house and felt it added to our trip. You
    are delightful, a great host and a joy to laugh with…you also went
    the extra mile with us. One of duffle bag’s zipper broke and Frank
    happened to find one and refused payment for it…tell me, that isn’t
    your one of many thoughtful ways. Of all the B&Bs we stayed at,
    yours will always be the one I remember fondly. I will recommend you
    B&B to anyone I know who is planning a trip to Ireland. God Bless
    You, Juanita (Finn) Nuci
  • (June 07)
    In our ten-day visit of Ireland, we had the opportunity to stay at a
    number of bed and breakfasts throughout the countryside. Many were
    elegant, and found our stay with Frank and Sheila here at Ashgrove to
    be very comfortable and enjoyable. Their hospitality was warm and
    inviting. We would highly recommend their “home away from
    home” to anyone visiting. Henry
  • (Apr 07)
    Sheila and Frank – we can’t say enough how much we appreciated your
    hospitality and warm welcome. Our entire family felt so comfortable
    and were so grateful for your kindness and laughter. We will
    definitely recommend Ashgrove House to our family and friends. Thanks
    again for all your help with my mom’s suitcase 🙂 and your Irish
    coffee’s are something we still relish today. Liana Finn
  • (Apr 07)
    This is a wonderful place to stay. I would highly recommend this
    B&B and will definitely stay again. Sheila has a great singing
    voice and Frank is quick to point out lovely views of the surrounding
    landscape. It is perfectly situated for touring many of Ireland’s
    famous places. Jan McCarthy
  • (Mar 07)
    Sheila!!! Thank you so much for the recipes. Honestly, of the 4
    B&B’s we stayed at in Ireland, we will never forget your
    hospitality, and SCONES!!Everyplace we went we tried scones but none compared to yours.I LOT of people have told us that they are planning on visiting Ireland and we give them your website
    immediately. Someday my wife Patty and I will return without the children and
    we will make your place our base of operations!!! Thanks again. Love, Patty, Dave,
    Katie, Matt and William
  • (Jan 07)
    Sheila – we enjoyed the game and your more than warm welcome into your
    home. Many thanks to yourself and family who looked after us very well
    and thanks again for the lift back to the airport. Hope to come over
    and see you soon but may have to wait for the baby first. Simon
    and Vicky
  • (Jan ’07)
    Mrs. Tiernan,Please know how much we enjoyed staying with you and greatly we
    appreciated all your hospitality. It truly helped to make our trip to
    your beautiful country more memorable. We most definitely intend to
    stay with you on our next trip to Ireland. Our stay with the Hobbs was
    equally nice. We can’t believe how fortunate we were to have found
    such lovely B&B’s, with such lovely owners! Again, thanks so very
    much! Please extend our regards to your daughter and her fiance.
    Warm regards, Terry & Connie Cearley
  • (Jan ’07)
    Thank you for a great time. We loved the cozy room and the breakfast
    was great. It was so close to the castle and great shopping. So sorry
    we didn’t meet you but Julie and Rory did a great job while you were
    gone. We will recommend your home to anyone who is going to Limerick.
    Greg Goodman
  • (Sep ’06)
    Dear Sheila and Frank:We would like to thank you for the lovely warm Irish welcome and of
    course the lovely coffee when we arrived. We had such a grand time
    staying with you and you made us feel like we were family. Your home,
    and the welcome you gave to us is superior to every B&B I have
    ever stayed. I will return again with my husband this time. My
    daughters and nieces loved it and wish you a sincere thank you. Oh the
    flowers and the breakfast. Grand!!!! Bonnie Deery
  • (Sept ’06)
    Hi Sheila and Frank,I just wanted to thank you so much for your great hospitality! We felt
    a warm welcom when coming to your house, and we left 2 very
    “Happy Babies!” Traveling around Ireland we stayed at many
    B&B’s and we rated yours #1!! Keep on singing and Thank you!! We
    will see you soon!! Erin & Debbie
  • (Aug ’06)
    Sheila and Frank,I just wanted to thank you both again for your hospitality this past
    Friday at your B&B. We had such an interesting time at the pub
    with Frank and I’m afraid we did not adequately express our
    appreciation for his time to take us out for the evening. I feel we at
    least should have bought him a drink! Patrick really enjoyed the
    fiddling and we loved having a chance to be part of a truly Irish pub
    experience. I’m still not sure as to exactly where we were so I know
    that we will never have another opportunity to go there again! Even
    the drive there was an experience so very different from Canada.Patrick
    and I also enjoyed meeting your family and were very impressed
    with the boys singing. I am sure they will bring tears to everyone’s
    eyes at the funeral and wake this week. It was very neat to see your
    young people so happy to spend time singing with family (even if they
    won’t dance with you Sheila!!).As well as the entertainment and a cozy place to spend our last night
    in Ireland, Sheila, your delicious breakfast kept us going through a
    very long day of airports and lineups so thank you for your great
    cooking. We did arrive home safely and with all our baggage at about
    5:30 am Irish time!So thank you once again for being so open and welcoming, especially
    after your recent loss. We look forward to returning to Ireland one
    day, for sure Patrick will return to fiddle and we will certainly book
    in again at Ashgrove House! Sincerely, Carolyn, Jamie, Patrick and David
  • (Aug ’06)
    Hi Sheila and Frank! I just wanted to thank you on behalf of myself
    and my two friends who stayed at your home a few weeks ago. We had an
    amazing time from the moment we pulled into your driveway and saw your
    amazing house to the next morning when we had a simply scrumptious
    breakfast (my first taste of scones)! We will always remember your
    kind hospitality (thank you for driving us to and from the bus
    station), warm personalities, and lovely home. Thank you again! Winnifred
  • (Aug ’06)
    I stayed at Ashgrove House at the beginning of August 2006 with my
    husband and brother; what a welcome! Sheila you’re great and your
    breakfasts are the best. Thanks for making our trip to a family
    wedding the most memorable it could have been. We thoroughly enjoyed
    our stay at your home from home. Thanks again xx, Michelle

  • (Aug ’06)
    Dear Sheila,I am back in the US .Got back last week. We had a great time at your
    place. You made our stay so pleasant and comfortable. I have to thank
    you for accepting Ajay and making all the necessary adjustments for
    him. I will never forget, your kindness and warmth. Thanks for
    the breakfast you left at our door step, came in handy. I really look
    forward to visiting Ireland again. I have already told all my friends
    about your place.Thanks again, Lalitha

  • (July ’06)
    Hello Frank and Sheila,I just wanted to reiterate what my father [Don Statham, next entry
    below] so eloquently said via email. We had a marvelous, splendid,
    brilliant time in your country. This was one vacation we will truly
    never forget. It was the best time we have had as a family in quite
    awhile (if not the greatest) and the first vacation that we have had
    together in close to 30 years (minus the husbands).:)I never realized how
    beautiful Ireland is. The pictures don’t do your
    fair country justice. But, what is really beautiful is the warmth,
    kindness, and graciousness of its people, with yourselves being at the
    top of that list. You made us feel so at home in your home. We
    honestly had the best and most welcome experience with you out of the
    whole trip of b and b’s that we visited.You guys are great and wonderful and we cannot wait to relive our time
    there with you, whenever that may be. Keep the Irish Coffee warm for
    us and the hospitality warmer!Thank you so much for making our trip “grand”!!
    All the best, Karen and Phillip Lee
  • (July ’06)
    Dear Sheila & Frank,Well the “Mad Family” (Don & Connie Statham; Phillip
    & Karen Lee; Ashley & Donna Gillihan) that spent the first 11
    days in June 2006 in Ireland are back in the U.S.A. and, now that the
    jet-lag has passed, we’re already missing the people, pubs and
    wonderful Irish weather that we experienced in our time in your
    charming country.We have gotten together since returning home to show pictures, videos
    and to reminisce about our special vacation together. We took a vote
    and y’all were “hands-down” our first and favorite hosts.No others were able to match your hospitality, wit and genuine warmth.We loved the Irish coffee on both arrivals and treasure the evening at
    Donnelon’s (sp) Pub. Mighty craic !!!As to the weather in Alabama & Georgia when we returned the heat
    was awful with highs up to 97F. (36C.) and lows only in the high 60’s
    (20C.). Connie and I tolerated the heat as long as we could and then
    headed out in the RV for the cool, green and shady No. Carolina
    mountains where we are now. We’ll stay here until at least
    mid-September or until it cools off in Alabama even if it takes till
    October. You can see where we are at riverbend281.com.
    In closing, be on guard as we all are talking about a return trip.
    Hopefully the youngest daughter and her husband (Kevin & Liesl
    Finney) will be on that visit and can also meet you two really fun and
    special folks.Take care and God bless you both.
    Warm regards, Don & Connie Statham
  • (July ’06)
    Dear Sheila,Our stay with you at the Ashgrove House was absolutely lovely! We felt
    comfortable and taken care of. We thank you also for making our
    reservations for the dinner at Bunratty Castle. The dinner and our
    stay with you was a perfect ending to a wonderful holiday! You truly
    have the gift of hospitality! Thank you so very much!
    Warm Regards, Nila & Bernie Cahill
  • (May ’06)
    sheila-frkWe wanted to thank you again for a truly wonderful experience. We very
    much enjoyed our time with you both. I have attached some
    pictures from our time together. We hope you enjoy them. Thank you
    again for your hospitality and generosity. With love, Mike, Monica
    and Charlotte
  • (May ’06)
    Roger & I would like to thank you for your warm & friendly
    hospitality. Our visit to Ireland was wonderful and everything I had
    hoped. The highlight for me was people like you, so willing to chat and share. I
    hope you and your family have a wonderful spring season.
    Best to you, Zib Corell of New Hampshire
  • (Mar ’06)
    Dear Sheila and Frank,Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you !I just wanted to let you
    both know I am thinking of you guys often and the wonderful hospitality
    you showed me last October when I was there.It started when I showed up at your door in the dark and rain and
    being greeted by Sheila saying “David….is that you?”. It
    felt like family was expecting me…so warm. ( and of course the Irish
    coffee !)Then my last night when a few of us were in the kitchen celebrating
    special news with Frank and being treated to a rendition of just about
    every Irish song ever written… with a glass of Jamisons.So thanks again
    for being so kind to me, you are wonderful ambassadors
    of the richness of the human spirit as well as the Emerald Isle, and
    sometime today I will lift my glass to you.Many blessings !!
    David Flodine, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
  • (Feb ’06)
    Thank you to Frank & Sheila for the weekend we’ve just enjoyed at
    Ashgrove House. It truly was memorable in more ways than one and like
    so many other guests, we’ll be back! Bob Larter

  • (Jan ’06)
    My family (9 of us!) stayed with Frank and Sheila for two nights in
    September of 2004 and loved it! They were so friendly and warm, it was
    like being with even more family! From the Irish coffees on arrival to
    our goodbye hugs in the kitchen, I can’t wait to do it all over again!
    Thanks so much and hope to see you again soon! Allysha

  • (Jan ’06)
    Dear Sheila and Frank,Thank you for our lovely stay at your B&B! It was such a lovely
    room and the breakfast was really very good. And, thank you also to
    Julie! Your advice : Think left, left, left and look right in
    roundabouts! Was the best advice I’ve ever received. The car-rental
    went so smoothly and I could stay calm all the way. Our holidays where
    really a success, very much thanks to you all. We saw nearly
    everything you sent in your “what to do and see-letter”. And
    the car was in one piece when we returned it.Best Regards, Carina and Leila

  • (Dec ’05)
    We enjoyed our time with you and found your home and location perfect
    for the traveler. The breakfast was super and filling. Your
    friendliness is a welcome trait not found everywhere. We will
    definitely look you up on our next trip over. Ann Cline

  • (Oct ’05)
    The Ashgrove House has the best hospitality in Ireland! My husband
    Josh and I had such a wonderful time. We enjoyed having an Irish
    coffee with Sheila and chatting so much. The room was very comfortable
    and the breakfast was delicious! Sheila, Frank and Julie really went
    out of their way to make us feel at home and I will never forget it.
    The Tiernan family made it all the more difficult for us to leave such
    a beautiful country! I would highly recommend the Ashgrove House to
    anyone traveling to Ireland. Jennifer Mulcahy

  • (Sept ’05)
    We stayed at Ashgrove House on Sep. 4th, 2005, and left on the 6th. We
    liked it so much we returned on the 11th and spent another night prior
    to flying out of Shannon. Sheila and Frank, and their daughter Julie,
    were a shining example of Irish hospitality at its best – friendly as
    only the Irish can be. The house is efficiently run and very
    reasonably priced. They provided an excellent full breakfast including
    some wonderful home-made scones and fresh fruit . The rooms we stayed
    in were clean and had all that we expected in them. We have no
    hesitation in recommending this great B & B. Paul and Gwen Soane

  • (Sept ’05)
    Thanks for everything… good conversation… good advice… warm bed
    … full stomach and smiling faces. John Porteus

  • (Sept ’05)
    Ashgrove House is a wonderful place to stay. Sheila greeted us with
    such warmth and hospitality, we loved every minute of our stay and we
    were sorry to leave. We will definitely return and would recommend to
    everyone. Heather and family

  • (Sept ’05)
    We are back in the USA for a week now and all we can do is tell people
    about our trip and the wonderful time we had. One of the highlights of
    our trip, besides the beautiful country we visited, was your kind
    hospitality. You welcome us with open arm, and we appreciate it from
    the bottom of our hearts. Keep in touch if you can. Be assured that we
    will send visitors your way when they are visiting Ireland. Say a
    prayer for all the victims of the hurricane Katrina that devastated
    the southern part of our country.Be well, and thank you!
    Eileen, John, John C Chris and Maura Baginski; & Mary White and Kathryn Bruen
  • (Aug ’05)
    Hello Frank, back in Germany again, almost 4 weeks after staying with
    you (July ´05), we still often have to think about you. And so we’d
    like to thank you one more time for your warm welcome, your delicious
    Irish Coffee, the wonderful breakfast, the funny stories your told us
    (but we didn’t understand them all although I hardly tried!) and much
    more! It really has been like home coming! Thank you for this! It
    really has been a pleasure to meet you!And – as we told you on our departure – we’ll be back next year! Our
    next trip to your beautiful country is already planned and we’re going
    to have our last night at your B&B. So, see next year!
    Nicole & Diana from Germany
  • (Aug ’05)
    Don’t bother looking any further! You have found spotless quality
    accommodation with a genuinely friendly welcome. Highly recommended. (Maureen
    & Lydia
    from Dublin but living in UK – stayed July 05.)
  • (July ’05)
    The Ashgrove was a wonderful place to stay. The hospitality of the
    owners, Frank & Sheila, was warm and welcome. The breakfast was
    traditional Irish and was perfectly tasty. The Irish coffee upon
    arrive was a nice treat. The room and bath were clean and well kept.
    There were some rooms, ours included, that has a separate entrance,
    which was very convenient. I would recommend spend a night or more at
    AshGrove house when visiting Bunratty or Shannon. A TripAdvisor
    Member, Woodbury, MN
  • (June ’05)
    Sheila, I want to thank you once again for the wonderful time I had
    while staying in your B & B. You and Frank certainly made my last
    24 hours in Ireland some of the best I had. Your hospitality is the
    unrivaled. Thanks again. Please send me that delicious Scones recipe.
    I’ve told my husband about it and he’s dying to taste it. Thanks
    again. Regards, Patti Soler

  • (April ’05)
    Hello! A lot of thanks for your welcome. B&B magnificent (the best
    !!) – Irish coffee sublime…. See you soon … on next
    occasion…certainly !!! Best regards Patrick Cordier (Paddy from Belgium)
  • (Mar ’05)
    My sister, Cathy Simmons, and I had a wonderful visit with you in May
    of 2003. Both of you made us feel like we were home. You were our
    first stop on our journey through Ireland, and we could not have made
    a better choice. I would recommend you to anyone looking for grand
    hospitality, great food and a comfortable stay.
    My sincerest regards. Barbara Hartford

  • (Feb ’05)
    Greetings from the Irish Minstrels! We still talk about our September
    2004 trip to Ireland, and our stay with you – our picture book has not
    been put away since the trip. We especially like to recall the
    wonderful memories of the little pub in Kilkishen – thank you for
    taking us to your special place. Your inviting home, the great
    breakfasts, Mac’s Pub, Frank’s stories, Sheila’s ballads, the Irish
    Coffees, Kilkishen and our homemade candles,….what memories! I have
    copies of pictures to send to you. We are talking of another trip to
    Ireland, if so, we will definitely get in touch.Brenda Rathbun

  • (Feb ’05)
    Ons verblijf bij Sheila en Frank was ongelooflijk. Deze mensen zijn
    enorm vriendelijk en geven jou al vanaf het begin van je verblijf een
    echt thuis-gevoel. Ook voor onze kinderen was het tip top in orde. Het
    Ierse ontbijt is zeer uitgebreid en bijzonder lekker. Wanneer we nog
    een keer naar Ierland gaan, overnachten we zeker in Ashgrove House.
    Thanks a lot for your wonderful hospitality. Always welcome in Belgium!
    Our stay with Sheila and Franc was unbelievable. These folks are
    enormously kind and from the beginning give you a real home-feeling.
    Also for our children, the trip was tops. The Irish breakfast was
    plentiful and particularly delicious. When we get another chance to go
    to Ireland, we will certainly stay at Ashgrove House. Thanks a lot for
    your wonderful hospitality. Always welcome in Belgium! Patsy

  • (Feb ’05)
    Had a wonderful stay with the Tiernans. Yes, Sheila loves to talk and
    visit. They are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful B&B and
    lovely grounds. Thanks for a wonderful time. Joyce Stein

  • (Jan ’05)
    Dear Frank and Sheila,We were going through the pictures of our trip from October,
    and the memories of our stay with you came flooding back. My mother is still talking
    about the Irish coffee and the lovely visit we had with thefamily from New Orleans
    at your kitchen table. Please know that we’llnever plan another trip to Ireland
    without staying with you at least onenight.Hope your trip to Barcelone was wonderful.
    Sincerely, Kathy Rogers

  • (Nov ’04)
    I have been staying with Sheila and Frank several times during this
    past two years.Sheila and Frank treated me like there own. Never left me stranded
    since I had no car. They are wonderful, warm and caring and extremely
    hospitable. I have the honor of rating Ashgrove House A++.I would trust no
    one else and stay nowhere else but Ashgrove house
    with Sheila and Frank if I was to travel to Shannon with my family.
    Thank you for you wonderful and endless hospitality and kindness.
    From the United States Customs and Border Protection. Mehran

  • (Nov ’04)
    My husband and I just returned from a 1 week vacation in Ireland. We
    stayed with Frank and Sheila for the duration of our trip. I really
    believe that their kindness and hospitality were what made the
    vacation a wonderful time. If you ever have the chance to visit
    Ireland, please do not pass up the chance to stay with Frank and
    Sheila. They are the best! Lorie Hamel

  • (Nov ’04)
    Frank and Sheila are the epitome of Irish hospitality! They couldn’t
    have been more kind or understanding to two American women who showed
    up at their door at one in the morning without a confirmed
    reservation. They did everything they could to find us a room and when
    nothing turned up, they offered us their home. What more could you
    ask. They were the most friendly and gracious of all the B&B
    owners we met during our weeks stay. Thank you again Frank &
    Sheila. You are grand! Elizabeth Borcherding

  • (Sept ’04)
    I visited Ashgrove in May and June of 04 immediately following my
    arrival in Ireland and prior to my departure. Frank and Sheila were
    the most gracious of hosts and went far beyond what is ordinarily
    expected of hosts. When I remember my time in Ireland – my stay with
    the Tiernans and visit to Bunratty will be indeed among my fondest of
    memories. Best and God Bless to Frank and Shiela, Leith R.A. Coghlin

  • (June ’04)
    Hi Frank and Sheila, we arrived home safe and sound without a hitch.
    Still having a bit of jet lag though. The security wasn’t that bad at
    all, it didn’t hold us up.We will never forget our stay with you, we appreciated the kind
    hospitality you showed us. The whole of Ireland was wonderful but our
    last night there was the best. Thanks Frank for taking us to
    Donnellans Pub, it was like stepping back in time. I can still see
    Pat’s roses. Hope you weren’t too tired for your trip the next day.
    Thanks again. Love Ann

  • (May ’04)
    Hi sheila and Frank! It’s Jill! I stayed in your beautiful home in
    February of this year with the McDonalds and their two young children
    Martha and Mabel! I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed my
    stay! Your home was warm and inviting and I would love to stay there
    again when I come back to Ireland in March of 2005! Thank you for
    making the last few days of my trip so special! *~*Jilla*~*
  • (May ’04)
    Dear Sheila & Frank, Joel and I arrived home last night after the
    best vacation I’ve ever had, 3 weeks in Ireland. Our stay for 3 days
    with you at the outset, and on our last day gave us the best possible
    start and ending. Your welcome to 2 exhausted travelers with huge
    breakfast, advice on how to manage sleeping on that 1st day, the very
    welcome Irish coffee that first night, and Frank’s quick work in
    helping me recover my left behind luggage, made our arrival so easy.
    As we drove back to Shannon for our last night with you, I felt like
    we were coming home, not to just another B&B. Thank you both for
    everything, and for making our trip a better one than it would have
    been without you. We will never forget our time with you.
    Affectionately, Judith & Joel Cameron

  • (May ’04
    )Dear Sheila and Frank,As usual,our stay with you this past April was one of the highlights
    of our visit to Ireland. We always look forward to seeing you both and
    spending time with you at Ashgrove house. From your warm welcome, to
    the Irish coffee by the fire, the comfortable room and ease at getting
    to Shannon airport (to name only a few of the reasons we love staying
    with you), we truly enjoyed our two days at Ashgrove House. As Jim said when we left,
    “Frank and Sheila’s is so much nicer than a B & B.
    Till next time, Sharon and Jim Turley

  • (April ’04)
    Dear Mr. and Mrs. Tiernan,Thank you so much for your hospitality on Wednesday evening.
    Thankfully, my Mom and I were able to get home last night. I did speak
    with the Hertz people and they were holding the car for us until
    9:30am.Thanks for your helpful information and wonderful thoughtfulness. We
    were so glad to see you after 4 years. As always, you are full of
    smiles and warmth. You make our trip to Ireland all the more
    enjoyable. We hope to see you again in a few years – no traveling to
    Ireland for awhile I’m afraid.Thanks again for your hospitality. Laura Fuchs & Sharon Tanner
  • (March ’04)
    Dear Sheila,With the number of guests you receive, I am sure you do not remember
    me, but I remember you. About four or five years ago, my father and I
    stayed with you the night before we left Ireland to come home to
    Massachusetts, U.S. We had recently lost my mother, and were both very
    sad to be in Ireland without her, and you were so kind and welcoming
    to us – I will never forget it. Somehow I came onto your website
    tonight and just wanted to say thank you. I really enjoyed the family
    photos on your site, and have had a wonderful time remembering our
    visit with you.Thank you for your kindness, and happiest wishes to you! Denise Thomas

  • (Jan ’04)
    Dear Frank and Sheila,
    My family and I wanted to thank you both for the wonderful hospitality
    you both showed our family during our stay at your B&B. Your
    friendliness and engaging conversations made us feel right at home. We
    particularly enjoyed the delicious Irish breakfasts. We loved Ireland,
    it was absolutely breathtaking. We will be back to visit this
    beautiful country and to stay at your B&B.Thanks again, Mitchell, Karie, Lauren and Madison Votaw

  • (Dec ’03)
    Hello Sheila and Frank. We want to add to your website and tell others
    how great it was to stay two nights at your B&B in Oct. 2003. Your
    warm welcome and hot Irish coffee were much appreciated on our day of
    arrival after a long drive. We enjoyed our conversations with you both
    in your parlor and later sitting in the sun in the back of your house.
    Your accommodations are among the best we had in our 9 day stay in
    Ireland. Take care and happy holidays, John and Cheryl Keating

  • (Oct ’03)
    yossi-tzvikaDear Frank and Sheella,We just wanted to tell you how much we
    enjoyed the a-m-a-z-i-n-g, fabulous, and fascinating Ireland.
    The views are breathe taking, and the people and so nice.
    Our vacation was great and we will definitely come back some time. Our picture is attached to the mail. In my album I also wrote about your
    amazing hospitality, and your big smile that gives a good feeling to
    remember…Thank you, we really enjoyed our staying with you (even though, it was
    only for half an hour). We will write our recommendation in the ‘Lametayel’
    web site, so expect more Israelis at your door.
    With regards, Yossi and Tzvika, Israel
  • (Oct ’03)
    royalty-bryanUnknown to us, when Sheila (the Ashgrove House hostess) made the reservations
    for us, she made us the “king and queen” of the banquet.
    There was this crowning ceremony at the beginning, and Bryan had to
    wave his hand at the crowd to ennoble them (so they’d be fit to eat with).
  • (Oct ’03)
    Dear Sheila & Frank,I want to thank you both for the reception and the friendliness that
    you showed our party. You made us very glad that we picked your house.
    the rooms where very nice and the breakfast was great, even thou you
    told me not to ask, I had to ask and then I could’nt eat any more. I
    hope that your trip was as good as ours was. All of us had a great
    time in Ireland, we are going to be talking about this trip for a long
    time. James Sarver

  • (Sept ’03)
    Dear Sheila & Frank,Since we had such a good time during the short stay at your B&B on
    the 6th of september, I would like you to know that we have linked the
    Ashgrove House site to our own website Wizardlinks.nl.
    As it is mostly a Dutch orientated website you will have some trouble
    finding your link. So the place to find it is in the Vakantie
    (vacation) section and then Vakantie A t/m R (vacation A to R). Maybe
    in the future I will make our site also in English.If we are correct,
    Frank is going to enjoy his retirement one of these days. Therefore we would
    like to wish you both a great time when this is happening. We hope you will enjoy it.
    What comes in mind is an old Irish blessing:
    May the road rise to meet you
    May the wind be always at your back
    May the sun shine warm upon your face
    The rain fall soft upon your fields
    And until we meet again
    May God hold you in the palm of his hand.With kindly regards, Hanneke de Goeijen & William Wielders

  • (Sept ’03)
    Dear Frank and Sheila:My wife and I stayed with you in 1996 and it remains the highlight of
    our visit. We spent 12 days in Ireland but the most memorable time was
    staying with you, walking with your dog looking for mushrooms, which
    we didn’t find. And the wonderful evening at the castle that Sheila
    set up for us as Lord and Lady. Today my wife found your website and I
    felt compelled to write. Thanks again for adding the most wonderful
    two days to our delightful vacation. Ron and Donna Anderson, Lake Worth, Florida
  • (August ’03)
    Hi Sheila and Frank,We, the Belgian family, wanted to thank you again, for the warm
    welcome we got from you both on our arrival. The Irish Coffee was very
    welcome to me and my wife, Frieda. The kids had a great time during
    our stay and we love your company. It’s always nice, talking to Frank
    about this and that.We are sure we will be coming back to Ashgrove House, more then once,
    I guess. Keep up that spirit, people love you for it.For the Flemish travelers, we can recommend Ashgrove House whole
    hearty to have your first B&B as you arrive in Ireland, or during
    your stay. It’s as far as an arrow’s flight from Shannon Airport,
    close to Bunratty Castle on a fairly quiet street with a wonderful
    view over the mountains right across the street. Frank and Sheila
    welcome you, as if you are friends.And this familiar attitude keeps going on until after your breakfast,
    the next morning. Don’t be surprised if you get a good hug from
    Sheila, before you leave.We wish you a nice trip and a pleasant stay at Ashgrove House.
    Staf, Frieda, Katrien en Pieter-Jan PypenHallo Sheila en Frank,Wij, de Belgische familie, wilden je nogmaals danken, voor de warme
    ontvangst die we van jullie hebben gekregen, toen we bij het huis
    aankwamen. De Irish Coffee waren heel welkom bij mij en mijn
    echtgenote, Frieda. De kinderen hadden veel plezier tijdens ons
    verblijf in jou woning en we hielden van jullie aanwezigheid. Het was
    altijd prettig om met Frank een gesprek te voeren over ditjes en
    datjes.

    Wij zullen zeker terugkomen naar Ashgrove House, misschien zelfs meer
    dan eens.

    Doe zo voort, de bezoekers houden daarom van jullie.

    Voor de Vlaams sprekende reizigers, wij kunnen U Ashgrove House van
    harte aanbevelen als B&B voor Uw eerste nacht in Ierland en ook
    voor tussendoor. Op een boogscheut van Shannon Airport, naast Bunratty
    Castle, is dit huis gelegen in een vrij rustige straat met zicht op de
    bergen aan de andere kant van de straat. Frank en Sheila ontvangen je
    bij aankomst alsof je altijd al vrienden was. En dit gaat verder tot
    na het ontbijt de volgende ochtend. Wees niet verbaast als je voor je
    vertrek nog een goede knuffel krijgt van Sheila.

    Wij wensen je alvast een goede reis en een leuk verblijf in Ashgrove
    House. Staf, Frieda, Katrien en Pieter-Jan

  • (July ’03)
    Dear Sheila and Frank,Thank you so much for being such wonderful hosts during our recent
    vacation. Our stay with you was unanimously voted our favorite B &
    B and that was mostly because of your very welcoming manner. It was
    like visiting favorite relatives. We will definitely recommend your
    B&B to anyone we know who will be traveling in your area and I
    will go on-line to The Ireland Expert and make a recommendation there.
    Thanks again for your hospitality. If we’re ever luck enough to go
    back, we will be in touch. Sue and Chris Crocco

  • (June ’03)
    Hello Sheila and Frank.Here we are back in Canada from our whirl-wind trip to beautiful
    Ireland. Just wanted to thank you both again for being part of our
    memories of our trip. I am now the ‘goodwill ambassador’ for Ireland.
    I haven’t stopped talking about it.We were happy we chose to fly into Shannon. We were told the
    south-west area was the best and we were not disappointed. If we
    return to Ireland your home (our home away from home) would be our
    first stop.We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights stay particularly the wonderful
    breakfasts and, of course, socializing with Frank!Sheila, again, many thanks for going above and beyond in purchasing
    the cute jam jar for me in Limerick.We hope, in the not too distant future, to return to Ireland for a
    longer period of time. Best regards. Barb & Bruce Barlow

  • (June ’03)
    Dear Sheila,Wonderful you!”Halloo Kathleen!”, You called to me as I got out of the car!We’d never met as this was our first stay at Ashgrove House. (You told
    me later that you had recognized me from my picture on my stationary.)
    I felt as if we were old friends from that very first moment. You are
    funny, adorable, loving, and dearly treasured by two people from Las
    Vegas that fell in love with you and your home.From that first moment you did everything possible to make my husband
    and me feel like your most special guests! I loved the conversation in
    the dining room. You even helped me make phone calls to a friend
    staying near by. And you make the best cup of coffee in Ireland! (Even
    without the spirits!)I couldn’t believe it when you brought the mug of coffee out to me
    when I was in the comfy chair on your front porch.Thank you for a wonderful stay – so wish we could have stayed longer.We will meet again. And, if you are ever in Las Vegas there is a room
    waiting for you! Kat & Pat McMahon

  • (Dec ’02)
    About 6 months ago, my husband David & I were planning our
    European vacation to visit our daughter & son in law in Germany.
    We decided to increase our vacation from 2 weeks to 3 and add time in
    Ireland which has been a real dream of ours. After pouring over the B
    & B book sent to us by Tourism Ireland, we decided to stay at
    Ashgrove House for our last 2 days. Seeing as I was doing this over
    the internet, the greatest selling point for staying with Sheila &
    Frank was this wonderful website. Sometimes websites can be
    misleading, but take it from us, what you see on this website is what
    you get, plus.We arrived at Ashgrove house early in the afternoon after 2 days of
    touring the southern part of Ireland. Sheila was there with a truly
    warm Irish welcome. Since we were traveling with our daughter Karin
    & 5 month old granddaughter Abby, it was a wonderful relief to
    find a baby bed waiting for us in our room.Shelia & Frank were having some minor work done to their already
    lovely home, but that did not interfere with our comfort.Sheila knew that we’d already been in Ireland for 2 days & asked
    if we were ready for a change from the typical Irish Breakfast. Though
    we really did enjoy the eggs, bacon & black & white pudding,
    it was a special treat to have Sheila’s wonderful “Special”
    porridge & French Toast. For those who don’t know about the secret
    ingredient to Sheila’s porridge, make sure you order it when you
    visit. That alone is worth a trip to Ireland. Add to this wonderful
    breads & jams. Abby especially loved the bread.After this wonderfully hearty breakfast, we took a drive up to the
    Cliffs of Moher. The word “Spectacular” doesn’t do the vista
    that awaits you justice. I don’t think we’ve ever seen a more awe
    inspiring site. We followed Franks advice & followed the ocean
    highway from the cliffs to Ballyvaughn. Ate lunch at a wonderful pub
    & the headed on through the Burrens. A very exhilerated quartet
    arrived back at Ashgrove in time to get ready for another great night.
    I had talked to Sheila before leaving the United States and asked her
    to make reservations for Dave & I at the Bunratty Medievil Banquet
    as a late 31st anniversary celebration. Of course when we arrived, the
    tickets were there waiting for us. The banquet was everything it is
    promoted to be. We had so much fun & enjoyed Macnamara’s Pub (in
    Bunratty Folk Park) after the banquet with Shamus the fiddler player.
    What an extremely talented young man!We checked out the next morning & after bidding our host &
    hostess a fond farewell, we spent our last day in Ireland touring
    Bunratty Folk Park & up into Ennis, stopping to visit Quin Abbey
    & Knappogue Castle. Four very tired people departed Shannon
    airport for our trip back to Germany, the Dave & headed back to
    Florida 2 days later.If you are planning a trip to the beautiful country of Ireland &
    are going to be in the area surrounding the Shannon airport, we would
    highly recommend that you make Ashgrove House a priority on your list
    of places to stay.Sheila & Frank, anytime you are in the Central Florida area, I
    hope you will contact us so we can repay the hospitality. We’re hoping
    you had a great trip to Austia with your kids.

    Like the American General, Douglas MacAuthor said, “We shall
    return!”

    Dave & Laurie Hazelip, Karin & Abby Bethel

  • (Oct ’02)
    Several months were spent planning a “trip of a life time”
    for my mother (81) two uncles (73 and 78), an aunt (65), and a cousin.
    She is about my age, which I won’t reveal! Anyway, by the time we
    arrived at Frank and Sheila’s, I had orchestrated our journey from
    Atlanta-Munich-Dublin by air, and had driven almost 2400 miles by
    land. I felt like I had managed pretty well, but from the moment
    Sheila saw me, she sensed the stress that I had been under.After we had
    all spilled out of our very crowed van, and made our way
    into her home, she put her arms around me like she had know me
    forever. I can’t tell you what it meant to have her calming effect to
    a very frazzled person. The delicious Irish Coffee she fixed for me
    was a big help too!Frank took me into their dining room while Sheila was being an
    incredible hostess to my family. Frank and I visited…and I felt that
    he, just like Sheila was a long lost friend. I didn’t get to rest for
    very long…Sheila had made reservations for my mother and I to go to
    the 5:30 p.m. show at the Bunratty Castle. I took all of my family
    with me when I left, so they could get something to eat, then Frank
    was so gracious to offer and pick them up when they were ready to
    return to Ashgrove House.We had to leave early the next morning to fly from Shannon to Atlanta.
    Our visit with them was much to quick! During our two week trip, we
    stayed in many bed and breakfast…NO ONE came anywhere close to
    making us truly feel that we were their honored guest the way that
    Frank and Sheila did. I look forward to a return trip to the beautiful
    Emerald Isle for a longer visit, and a big Irish welcome from the
    “hostess’s with the mostest”… Doris Tomlin

  • (July ’02)
    Dear Sheila,Just a wee note to say a very big thank-you for your wonderful
    hospitality over the last few days. You were an absolute gem and we
    had a much better time than we would ever have had if we’d gone into a
    hotel.It was especially important for my daddy to feel ‘at home’ and he
    certainly did. Joe had to go back to work this morning and was very
    disappointed not to have a full cooked breakfast put down to him, as
    I’m sure we all were. Diamuid and katrina are already away to their
    caravan in Fife but I know I can speak for them too in sending you,
    Frank and Kitty our very best wishes and you can be sure you’ll
    receive plenty business from our family and friends in the future. If
    you ever manage a visit to Scotland you know you’ve a welcome at our
    door. All the best, Michèle

  • (July ’02)
    What a wonderful welcome we received from Frank and Sheila who did
    indeed warmed and welcomed us with Irish Coffee and then tucked us
    into bed for a few hours.We stayed our last night also and when Sheila found we would be
    leaving for the airport very early, made us scones and Frank got up
    the next morning to make coffee. This was very sweet and made us feel
    very at home. They are very special people! Joan Kayse

  • (May ’02)
    Sheila and Frank – You gave us a great reception and you run an excellent
    establishment. Thank you.Grattan Endicott, Betty Whalley, Bud and Bill Schoder
  • (April ’02)
    This is to thank Sheila and Frank for their hospitality and give a
    message to future guests.If you are ever down in County Clare remember to take the Low road at
    Bunratty Castle and the bridge. Go past Durty Nellie’s until you
    come to Ashgrove House on the left. There you’ll likely find Sheila,
    as fine a hostess as you will meet anywhere. Frank, a great host, may
    be there too. The two of them will make your visit a pleasure. You
    can’t go wrong. Their guests are interesting people too. Our stay
    there was great. If I go back, I’ll stay there a lot longer.Imagine this. My wife Nancy
    and I flew into Shannon for a 15-day tour of Ireland. We traveled early
    arriving at 6:30 am, and a day early. We were dead tired, only interested in a
    place to hide and rest.The services at the airport weren’t open yet and the ATM didn’t
    give coins for a phone call. Since Sheila had indicated on her
    Internet page that Ashgrove house would accommodate early arrivals, I
    decided to go there. Well she did say to call ahead, but we were
    tired. We simply took a taxi to Ashgrove House, unannounced.We got to Ashgrove.
    Sheila was the only person up and about, starting
    breakfast. She advised us that Ashgrove was full; BUT, that we should
    have some coffee and after that she would find us a room. She set a
    small table for us as all the other places were taken. We had a
    wonderful porridge breakfast, good conversation, and then a
    comfortable room. After a good rest Sheila guided us to some shopping
    and great dinner about a mile away. We returned to Ashgrove for a most
    restful evening and a great breakfast in the morning.If you are coming or
    going via Shannon, Ashgrove surely makes a nice
    staging point. You will be only minutes from the airport, so you
    won’t waste your first and last days dealing with arrival and
    departure. Also, shopping is across the road from Bunratty Castle.
    There is enough to do in the Bunratty, Limerick and close-by County
    Clare areas to keep you busy for a few days. The Bunratty Folk Park is
    a must, especially on your first visit to Ireland. Be sure to call
    ahead.Thanks from Roy and Nancy in Maryland
  • (April ’02)
    jayneocDear Sheila,We are now back in Buffalo, NY and settled in. We have had our pictures
    developed and I had promised you I would send you a copy of the
    priceless smile on Jayne’s face when she was presented with the
    birthday cake you went out and bought and delivered to the restaurant
    so they could surprise her with it after dinner.Once again, I must thank you for all of your effort in making my daughter’s 11th birthday so special, including the birthday gift you
    gave her (she will be writing you her own thank you very soon). It is
    one she will remember for years to come because of your
    thoughtfulness.We had a wonderful time at Ashgrove House and only wish we were there
    longer. You, Frank and Julie were delightful hosts and we truly plan
    to come back and stay with you again. You are centrally located to all
    the parts we want to see more of! Warmest regards, Pat O’Connor

  • (April ’02)
    Dear Sheila and Frank,It was just last spring when we were planning our trip to Ireland. I
    looked for B&Bs in travel books and on the internet. Your web site
    was very inviting and friendly so we decided to stay at your B&B
    on 2 separate dates. Your web site shows a friendly, fun, and
    welcoming B&B. You and your family certainly provide a very
    friendly, welcoming, and warm atmosphere to a very comfortable
    B&B.We have extra “thank yous” for you also. Our
    daughter-in-law’s Irish cousin from Limerick wanted to meet with her.
    You helped facilitate the meeting and provided us with family space.
    This was one of the highlights of our trip!! And the Irish coffee
    definitely warmed the cockles of our hearts. We loved our trip to
    Ireland and we want to come back . We highly recommend your B&B to
    others!! We visited you in June, 2001.Thanks for a great visit. John and Jeanne Hannan

  • (March ’02)
    Thank you so much for your warm and friendly stay. Yours was the only
    home in Ireland where I could sing with my host at breakfast. When we
    come back, your house will be our first stop. You are welcome to stop
    and see us when you come to America. Thanks again. Michael Lisea and Tammy

  • (Feb ’02)
    My daughter and I, my sister and her daughter stayed at Ashgrove House
    last week for two nights. Sheila and Frank are the most hospitable
    people you could ever meet. They welcome you into their home as though
    you were one of their own family members. They are so helpful in
    planning your day trips and giving you some great ideas.The breakfasts are
    delicious and the rooms are very comfortable. If you want true Irish hospitality
    stay a night or two with the Tiernan’s.Sheila and Frank, thank you so very much for helping to make our trip
    so great and for all the wonderful memories we brought back home with
    us. Christine Laird

  • (Feb ’02)
    When we came to Ireland in October 1999, my wife MeChelle and I were
    on our honeymoon. We stayed at Ashgrove House on our 1st, second and
    last nights of our week in Ireland. We had the best time. Frank and
    Shiela are absolutely wonderful people and we felt at home there. We
    still miss Shiela’s breakfasts and Frank’s Irish Coffee! We hope to
    someday get back there with our new son Bryan, who will be a year old
    in March. Bryan and MeChelle Mullins

  • (Feb ’02)
    Hello Sheila, Hello Frank!First let me thank you for the short but very nice time we could spend
    with you. We are all delighted. We’ve a couple of pictures which we’ll
    scan and send you soon.And oh yes, we’ve seen the cliffs, and we’ve seen the burren!
    Wonderfull! At the cliffs, wind was blowing like hell – we could
    hardly stand upright. Not too much rain either. We had plenty of time
    to get to the burren, which is indeed spectacular as well. We’re all
    glad we didn’t miss all this!The plane however was a bit late but who cares – after 24 hours that
    just seemed like 7 days? See you! Ludo Roose

  • (Jan ’02)
    We are two German fellows both aged 27 and spent a truly marvellous
    time at Ashgrove House. Our trip to Ireland was onlyfour days but Sheila helped a lot
    with her counselling to make the best use of our short time. So we came back
    to her place for the lastnight to tell what we had seen and to enjoy once more the splendid
    breakfast. Sheila, Frank and Julie were always very supportive giving
    us lifts into town or even to the airport or preparing Irish Coffee as
    a surprise before we went to bed. Cool.Cheers, Hannes and Rainer

  • (Dec ’01)
    Hello Frank and Sheila; My daughter Katie and I were first time
    visitors to Ireland in May. Ashgrove House was our very first stop,
    straight from the airport, dog tired and ready to sleep! What a great
    first impression we had of the Irish hospitality and warmth we had
    heard so much about before we arrived. We showed up on your doorstep a
    little early, but you invited us in straight away, promptly put and
    Irish coffee in my hands, and made us feel so at home.Sheila, you were so great
    in helping me solve my little “gravy all over the new sweater” problem!
    We got a great start to our 10 days in Ireland, and then capped it off with one last visit
    before we left, just because we felt compelled to visit you guys one more time
    before we left for home! This is the only way to travel around Ireland.
    You and Frank are the best part of Ireland – it’s people and
    it’s hospitality! We hope to get back there really soon, and Ashgrove
    House will be our very first stop! Heidi Sheldon

  • (Nov ’01)
    Dear Sheila and Frank,For all the kindness and concern we thank you. You made us feel as
    though we were a part of your family. I can’t wait to share this
    experience with those around me! Between the great itinerary ideas and
    superb hospitality, we couldn’t have asked for a more enjoyable and
    relaxing stay! Thank you again and hope to be seeing you in the
    future! Sheri, Terry, Amy & Rob

  • (Oct ’01)
    What a wonderful vacation we all had. And we certainly couldn’t have
    done it without all of your help, advice, love and kindness. There is
    no doubt the true spirit of the Irish is in your home. We felt like we
    have known you both forever. We can’t begin to thank you enough for
    everything you did for us during our stay at the end of July and into
    August. Sheila and Frank, God Bless you both.Love Always, Nancy and Rick Kelley

  • (Sept ’01)
    Sheila & Frank,I wanted to write and thank you for your kindness and hospitality
    during our stay on the 22nd & the 27th of this month. It was a
    difficult time for us Americans and the kindness and concern shown to
    us by the Irish people was comforting and touching.We appreciate the use of your
    computer for checking our e-mail and allowing us to stay in close contact with home.
    I look forward to a time when I can visit again and stay longer. You have a beautiful home
    and the porridge was wonderful. Thanks again, Betsy Murphy

  • (Sept ’01)
    Thanks for a wonderful accommodation and hospitality — and above all,
    for your concern. I look forward to recommending your B&B to my
    other friends and relatives who will be traveling to Ireland in the
    hopefully not-so-distant future. I hope that the military forces are
    able to take quick and successful action so that the threat of these
    particular terrorists is eradicated and the threat of other such acts
    is reduced accordingly and people may once again experience the
    unfettered joys of discovering new friends and exploring beautiful
    lands throughout the world. Nancy Shue
  • (Sept ’01)
    I would just like to say thankyou for your kindness. I have never
    experienced feeling so at home in any place before until I met you. I
    felt like I had known you all my life. I hope to get back down with my
    friend Gerldine in the near future and your place will be my first
    choice.Look forwarding to meeting you again, and if you are ever up in the
    North, give me a call and you can come and be waited on by me and my
    family. Look after yourself and once again many thanks for everything.
    Margaret Paul and Family
  • (August ’01)
    Just wanted to say “thank you” for your hospitality when six
    of us (myself and Cliff, my daughter Kathleen and her husband Les, and
    Kaitlin and Kyle) stayed at your lovely home (B&B) Ashgrove House.
    What a perfect beginning for our trip! We felt at home immediately.
    You are very caring,helpful and fun people. You were there to help
    with all our needs. You sent an e-mail for us to the people in Canada
    to announce our arrival in Ireland safe and sound, and you stored our
    extra van seat for two weeks to make room for our luggage which made
    the trip much more comfortable in doing so.The rooms at Ashgrove are lovely,
    the food was delicious and you also make the best IRISH COFFEE in Ireland.
    And a great cup of regular coffee too!!Thanks Sheila and Frank, for everything and we have to say that our
    stay with you on our first and last nights in Ireland was super. You
    made us feel at home immediately, and showed the true meaning of
    “a hundred thousand welcomes”.If we are ever fortunate enough to go back
    to Ireland in the nearfuture, you can be sure that the first thing we would do would be to
    book our rooms at Sheila and Franks!Thanks again for making us feel at home. Cliff and Betty O’Neill

  • (Aug ’01)
    Hi Sheila and Frank, Many thanks from the Lyons family for your
    hospitality and friendship on our recent stay at your wonderful
    guesthouse. We were all taken with the friendliness and the wonderful
    accommodation not to mention the great food. It`s going to be very
    hard to pass Bunratty in the future without being tempted to make an
    overnight stop to relive it all again. Hope to see you soon, Pat and Ann Lyons

  • (July ’01)
    Dear Sheila and FrankThe two of you are wonderful hosts and marvelous diplomats for your
    country. Your scones were the best we had in Ireland!!We had a marvelous time at
    every stop (and driving as well). Each place we visited confirmed that Ireland is a marvelous country.
    However, the only thing better than the scenery is the people. We
    encountered more wonderful smiles and helpful personalities, whether
    it was a shop keeper, someone staying at the same B&B, or just
    someone we met in a particular town.We can’t thank you enough for everything. Peggy, the kids, and I
    agreed that we could not have had a better start to our visit and
    would certainly hope that you were still operating your B&B should
    we be fortunate enough to return to Ireland.Thank you again for everything. We hope to hear from you (if not see
    you) again in the future. If you ever have the occasion to visit the
    US, please contact us.John and Peggy (oh, and the kids too)
  • (July ’01)
    Hi Sheila…We just got home and are really overwhelmed by our wonderful trip to
    Ireland. We had a wonderful time…thanks for your very warm and
    friendly introduction to Ireland…you set a high standard for the
    rest of our trip. Our best to you and Frank….hi to Kitty as well. If
    you and Frank ever visit Michigan you must give us a call. Betty Kolinski

  • (May ’01)
    Sheila & Frank are the ideal hosts to begin your trip to Ireland.
    Our family Kris, John, Johnny (15) and Sam (13) arrived at Ashgrove
    house on Monday April 9th after a 10-hour, all-night flight from Los
    Angeles. As anyone would be, we were very tired, and some of us
    borderline grouchy. Somehow Sheila has the gift for putting it all in
    perspective. She got us settled in, helped us get off to the Bunratty
    Castle Banquet (that she booked for us in advance), and just made us
    very welcome and gave us a great first impression of Ireland.Then the next
    morning after a good rest Sheila served the most generous breakfast that we
    had in Ireland. I think Frank would have given us the shirt off his back, and
    they have a wit and charm that we will always remember. I believe they even
    arranged for us to have sunshine in Ventry the day we left Ashgrove! John McGovern

  • (Mar ’01)
    Hi Everyone -I just returned home after a great trip to Ireland. I spent the last
    night at the Ashgrove House. I am writing to say we had a wonderful
    stay. The rooms were so comfortable and the beds great. We had a great
    nights sleep. I have to say the Irish Coffee we had in the afternoon
    of our arrival was a great treat ..We had one in a pub in cobh and i
    have to say yours was MUCH better… I just wish i tried the oatmeal
    with the baileys ..next time!!! I hope to return. Thanks again for a
    nice stay I only wish it was longer. Michele A Superba

  • (Mar ’01)
    Sheila & Frank, it’s Anne Surber again. When dreaming of our trip
    just now, I remembered how helpful you were in contacting my new-found
    cousin, Finbarr Harte (on McSweeney Terrace in Kilkee) for us.
    Remember when I got off the phone with him, you said “oh, they’re
    running around the house saying, ‘The Yanks are comin’, The Yanks are
    comin’ — get out the Hoover!’ ” You were soooo funny! When we
    arrived at 9am, you greeted us with an Irish Coffee!!What a grand way to start our vacation.
    And you told us how to get to Patrickswell so we could stop at Lucey’s Restaurant &
    Store (as that was my maiden name and I wanted to see if there might be a
    connection). It was owned by Denis & Agnes Lucey and my dear
    mother’s name was Agnes Lucey! I was so thrilled even thought we
    couldn’t find a common relative.And how could we ever forget your fantastic porridge with the
    starberries and Bailey’s?? No other B&B gave us THAT! And when we
    returned on our last night (without a reservation, mind you — weren’t
    we bold?), you called out “The Surbers are back, the Surbers are
    back!” And when we got to the door you said “And how
    is your cousin on McSweeney Terrace?” We couldn’t believe your
    memory!!How we loved seeing your smiling faces on the photos on the Internet.
    Memories of your food make my mouth water and seeing your beautiful
    pictures make my eyes water. Please God, let us return someday
    SOON to Ashgrove House & the beautiful Tiernans!!We love you!
    Let’s go to Durty Nellie’s together next time… Anne & Joe

  • (Feb ’01)
    jackieDear Mr. and Mrs. Tiernan:
    It is coming to that time of the year in which I wish I was stilltraveling the countrysides
    of Ireland. Last year my wife, Jackie, andI spent the most wonderful evening at
    your home on March 15, 2000. Icannot express in words the impact and influence that
    our one weektrip had upon me personally… Since the one-year anniversary of our
    trip is coming up, I felt it necessary to let you know how wonderful
    our stay at your home was, and our experience in Bunratty altogether.

We arrived at your home late in the day after spending an 8 hour day
driving the beautiful vistas of the Ring of Kerry. Although we were
tired from our day of traveling from Kinsale, I must say that once we
arrived at your home we felt as welcome as I would expect to feel at my
own parents’ home. To supplement this, you recommended Durty Nellie’s,
of which there is a duplicate version of the pub in my hometown in South
Dakota, USA, but also Bunratty Castle.

We enjoyed the castle in the morning, and we took Frank’s advice of
“THE best seafood chowder in Ireland” at Monk’s Cafe south of
Galway (). With his advice we stopped at Monk’s for lunch and I must
concur with his review of this pub, and tell you that it was by far my
favorite meal of the trip.

Thank you so much for enriching my life during our vacation, and I am
counting the days until I can return. I hope to have the opportunity to
make you acquaintance again in NEAR future, Tim Mullarkey

  • (Dec ’00)
    Merry Christmas Sheila and Frank! Richard and I had a wonderful time
    in Ireland and remember our stay with you as a highlight of our trip.
    It was a pleasure to get to know you and experience your warm
    hospitality. We hope to see you again very soon!I hope you and your family
    have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!
    I left a part of my heart in Ireland and will not be the same until I return again.
    Thank you for making our holiday so special.Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain
    faoi Mhaise DaoibhMany blessings, Tammy Rowan

  • (Dec ’00)
    We just wanted to drop you a note of thanks. We very much enjoyed
    staying with you and appreciated all of your help and guidance. We
    were so glad we listened to all of your suggestions. What a wonderful
    time we all had!!We’ll be sure to contact you about our next visit (Ellie would like it
    to be in May). It may be years from now, but hopefully we’ll make
    another trip.You are very gracious, kind people. Thank you, Thank you!!!!
    Kyla and Paul Peacock
  • [Sept., 00]
    I’ve just found your website and it was so nice to see
    your smiling faces. I don’t know if you would remember me. I visited
    in late September ’98. My friend Wanda and I stayed 2 nights. We live
    in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. At the time we worked for an airline.
    We had spent 3 nights in Scotland and then came to Bunratty for 2.
    We are the girls that borrowed your bikes and rode out to that
    Castle, I think Craggenowen? It began to rain and two gentlemen that
    worked there let us borrow their raincoats. They came back to you the
    next day Sheila to retrieve the coats.Maybe you’ll remember us from this Sheila. We had not much money
    left when we came and didn’t know if we would have enough to stay,
    though we made out just fine with I think enough money to get us back
    to the airport when we left. You, you very kind and dear woman, tried
    to give us some money back from our bill for our nights stay.And Frank, my
    friend Wanda and I wanted to go to Bunratty Castle
    and you sneaked us into the back entrance. Also we tried to get to the
    Cliffs of Moher and Sheila told us to hitchhike. Anyway we took the
    bus half way out but couldn’t make the connection so we turned around
    and came back. Now do you remember?I was just watching a movie on TV …
    it took place in Ireland. I saw the green fields and my eyes began to water.
    What wonderful and picturesque memories I have of Ireland. And with much thanks to the
    two of you. I’m getting choked up now.I know this has been a very long note. I just wanted to send a warm
    hello and though you may still not remember me I think of you and your
    kind hospitality everytime I think of Ireland. With kind regards, Concetta
    Monteleone
  • I just wanted to say how much my Dad and I enjoyed our night at
    Ashgrove House during our recent stay (June 2000). My Dad uses a
    walking aid so the outside door from the room to the parking lot was
    very convenient. The room was the nicest we stayed in during our 9 day
    visit, and was the only to include a clock radio. Doesn’t sound like
    much, but it was the first night I didn’t have to bug the owner to
    give us a wake-up knock in the morning!Sheila and Frank showed the
    genuine hospitality the Irish are famous for, and made us feel right at home.
    Dad especially enjoyed the discussions on politics and religion with Sheila,
    which she happily engaged in, even if we were a couple of Protestants. :o)
    Make sure you try Sheila’s Irish coffee and her home-made porridge
    (with milk, strawberries, and a splash of Bailey’s). I usually detest
    coffee, but even I had to admit it was good!Regards, Ray Daugherty Albany, New York
  • Frank and Sheila have the best B & B in Ireland! They are
    experts at making you feel at home and so welcome! To me, it is my
    home away from home when I am in Ireland.
    Love to you both, Kathleen O’Flaherty Butz ,Illinois, USA
  • You probably don’t remember me but we stayed at your place in the
    fall of 1996 when our little family band was trying to get home.
    Mom had fallen in Dublin on our first day of vacation and broke
    her hip, which the hospital replaced and we were 3 weeks waiting for
    her to be discharged, Dad was 90 and Chad was 9 and I was a wee bit
    stressed to say the least. You and Frank were so kind to us. You
    loaned me the money to pay the cab which was 500lbs, to drive from
    Dublin to Shannon. … When I found out we would [again] be gathering
    in Shannon I immediately remembered you and insisted that if you have
    room, we’d love to stay again with you. … I’d like to show
    them Bunratty Castle and village, have the special dinner there, visit
    that pub you took us to where they sang and enjoy your great
    breakfasts. … Eloris Chisholm
  • Everyone needs to begin their first visit to Ireland at Ashgrove
    House. You are the best welcome to Ireland that anyone could
    want. Thank you for a wonderful holiday. Alan Scott Mikesell(Alan’s review
    appears on the Transatlan web site)”The Best Welcome to Ireland is
    Found Here!October ’98 was our first visit to Ireland. Ashgrove House was our
    first ever B&B. We were much at home in a matter of minutes after
    arrival. Our room was beautiful, quiet, and very relaxing for us.
    Sheila prepared us for our 17 day visit to Ireland as if we were
    family. The breakfast was very nice. Ashgrove house was so nice that
    we also spent our final night there before returning to the states. We
    returned to Ireland in March 2000 for 21 more days. Naturally we
    returned to Ashgrove House and Sheila Tiernan for a few days. My wife
    and I have spent a total of 39 days in B&B homes in Ireland in
    less than two years. We have never found a B&B any more friendly,
    comfortable, quiet, and nice in those many wonderful days in
    Ireland.”
  • Our stay with you last August [1999] was wonderful, especially your
    great Irish Coffee!! I am booking clients to Ireland for this year and
    will send all of them your way, to get their visit to Ireland off to a
    wonderful beginning…I might even be back with my neighbors this
    summer. Loved Ireland, and cannot wait to return…Sandi Brazeal
  • “…Returning to our home base in Shannon at the end of our
    trip, we again stayed in the Bunratty area at the Ashgrove House. The
    Ashgrove is run by a Mrs. Sheila Tiernan. Words cannot describe this
    experience. Sheila, Frank and her family are the epitome of Irish
    hospitality. I encourage anyone utilizing the B&B system to visit
    Ashgrove House (email frashe@tinet.ie). You will return for years and
    hold this home in a special place of the heart. Thank you again for
    this spectacular lead.” (quoted from: Frommers, Letters to the
    editor, August 17, 1998) Mariclare Mallon-Theunissen
  • In July’99 a friend and I stayed at Ashgrove House – a great
    introduction to the people and culture of Ireland. I cannot say enough
    positive things about this place …from the cooking to the
    rooms…and especially the atmosphere.Sheila and Frank just include you
    into the culture and into their lives….they give you all kinds of suggestions for activities (the
    good ones and tell you the not so good ones!!)….and they replied
    immediately to our email (which impressed us) and let us use their
    email to send messages home to family. They are wonderful! And
    more than accommodating. They made us feel totally comfortable, helped
    us plan our “Ireland adventure”….and even went with us to
    the local pub and shared the evening with us. We felt like we had
    known them all our lives. If we are ever back in Ireland (and we plan
    to be), we shall surely plan to stay at Ashgrove House. Celesta Kirk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s